Today I saw

The Vredenburg concert hall for the first time in ages! It is a place I feel like I practically grew up in. It is being rebuilt and is surrounded by a huge wall. While shopping for childrens’ clothes today I found out there are some holes in the wall an decided to stick a camera through, just to see what’s left of it.

vredenburg-20-4-09

As  one can see there’s actually loads of the building still there, and it didn’t even look like anyone is working on this at the moment.

As to how things are going, well, sunday was a setback with a huge emotional outburst triggered by a stressful situation. Hmmm, what to think if that. Be worried? Try and ignore? Talk to my shrink? We’ll see how I feel about it in the morning.

Work is going great, knitting, however, is slow. I have to give myself some time to get back into that properly. First finish the bow-tie I’m making Rom (I promised I’d have it done next saturday), and then decide on the next step. Honeybee Stole? Mick’s pullover? blown-up Lyra? All things either planned or in progress. And the socks, oh, all the socks.

At the moment all I feel is an enormous desire to be in control of my life. To be able to sing solos without freaking out, so I committed myself to another one in 3 weeks. It’s tiny and totally innocent. I can deal with that right? RIGHT?

We’ll see.

~ by jantientje on April 20, 2009.

4 Responses to “Today I saw”

  1. Man, the Vredenburg really does not seem to have changed since I moved to the ‘trecht 1.5 years ago. It is like a metaphor for all the papers piled on my desk at work.

    Maybe this week you should do one of the socks! Piece by piece…

  2. I think the inactivity has something to do with the fact that they found some remains of the old roman fort underneath the hall. Knowing Dutch law this will probably set back the whole thing, big time, like, years.

  3. I think taking on challenges, like solos, is a good thing, but don’t overdo it.

  4. I’ll be thinking of you during your solo! And I’ll be there again before you know it. Hang in there, and don’t worry about the knitting thing – it will always be there.

Leave a comment